Last x Days Posts  1 | 3 | 7 Days  Search  Topics  Tree View  Help
  Soarer Central * Electrical * OBD scan tool Previous Previous    Next Next  

Author Message
Brett Harrison
DieHard
QLD
JZZ30

Posts: 765
Reg: 09-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Monday, September 19, 2011 - 10:11 pm, by:  Brett Harrison (Bretto) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm after something that will read a OBD port, rectangular port in engine bay. As I have no other way of reading for fault codes, as the 1UZFE has been transplanted.

Ive noticed several scan tools available, but have no idea which one will read a 94 Celsior engine.

Anyone have any clues on this.
Brett Harrison
DieHard
QLD
JZZ30

Posts: 766
Reg: 09-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Tuesday, September 20, 2011 - 03:50 pm, by:  Brett Harrison (Bretto) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Surely someone must know what tool will plug into the engine bay OBD 1 port.

Is there a way to do it manually, with a test light ? As the engine isn't linked to the dash in a std car.
Scott Casey
DieHard
nsw
soarer v8

Posts: 672
Reg: 02-2008

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Thursday, September 22, 2011 - 06:29 am, by:  Scott Casey (V8soarer_1991) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

try

http://www.obd1.com/

most obd1 is in the engine bay.

1uz top of engine
Brett Harrison
DieHard
QLD
JZZ30

Posts: 775
Reg: 09-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Saturday, October 01, 2011 - 11:36 am, by:  Brett Harrison (Bretto) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ive tried one scan tool but couldn't get a reading from the engine port. Ive emailed your link Scott so will see if they have any ideas.
Nathan Cryer
TryHard
Victoria
Rodeo V8

Posts: 141
Reg: 10-2009

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Tuesday, October 04, 2011 - 08:56 am, by:  Nathan Cryer (Redrodeo) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Have you used the standard ECU with your transplant?
If you have connect a light to the "check" wire from the ECU and follow the paper clip diagnostics. The light will flash any fault codes.

The diagnostics port is unique to Toyota, it is not OBD1. I have tried a SnapOn scan tool but it only wants to talk to the inside round port.
Brett Harrison
DieHard
QLD
JZZ30

Posts: 781
Reg: 09-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Tuesday, October 04, 2011 - 12:27 pm, by:  Brett Harrison (Bretto) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Its running std ecu.
The diagnostic port has an output 'W' which is CEL output. In diagnostics mode it does give out a reading via the multimeter. However the voltage is in mV, and hard to read with out a test light. So I might need to get a low voltage LED to read it.
Nathan Cryer
TryHard
Victoria
Rodeo V8

Posts: 142
Reg: 10-2009

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Tuesday, October 04, 2011 - 06:34 pm, by:  Nathan Cryer (Redrodeo) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

On the Soarer ECU it grounds the check light. Power for the light comes from the gauge fuse then through the light and then to the ECU to be grounded.
Check the wiring diagram and the end of the diagnostics page.
http://soarercentral.com/sc-forum/messages/1113/862.html?1100787369
Brett Harrison
DieHard
QLD
JZZ30

Posts: 782
Reg: 09-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Tuesday, October 04, 2011 - 07:54 pm, by:  Brett Harrison (Bretto) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for that Nathan,

Now that check light, is connected to 'W' in the diagnostics port, if I run a check light straight off that to ground, that should flash as per dash right ? Its definitely cycling a code when in diagnostics mode through 'W' port, but voltage is very low, not enough to run a light that I'm aware of.
Is this correct, or have I overly simplified this ?

Brett
Nathan Cryer
TryHard
Victoria
Rodeo V8

Posts: 143
Reg: 10-2009

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, October 05, 2011 - 09:17 am, by:  Nathan Cryer (Redrodeo) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mine runs from positive to the light then to the W wire.
Brett Harrison
DieHard
QLD
JZZ30

Posts: 785
Reg: 09-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, October 05, 2011 - 06:44 pm, by:  Brett Harrison (Bretto) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Nathan, your spot on,
So for reference sake, bridge TE1-E1.
Then run a test light between B+ and W.
Fault codes will start flashing with ignition on.
Chris Lock
Goo Roo
sa
V8 Limited

Posts: 1085
Reg: 03-2008

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Friday, February 28, 2014 - 06:23 pm, by:  Chris Lock (Sledge) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone seen this?
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/2013-Vgate-v1-5-Mini-ELM327-OBD2-OBDII-Bluetooth-CAN-Scanner-for-TORQUE-A NDROID-/121228007516?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item1c39c0985c&_uhb=1
Reckon it would work?
Tom Richards
Goo Roo
nsw
V8

Posts: 1804
Reg: 08-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Friday, February 28, 2014 - 08:33 pm, by:  Tom Richards (Tomr) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

got one, works great with the apps on phones. EG torgue lite(free) torgue pro a couple of $'s


not for soarers , but most cars after mid 90's.


eg resetting codes in late model commodores.
Chris Lock
Goo Roo
sa
V8 Limited

Posts: 1086
Reg: 03-2008

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Friday, February 28, 2014 - 08:58 pm, by:  Chris Lock (Sledge) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So doesn't work on Soarers then?
Tom Richards
Goo Roo
nsw
V8

Posts: 1805
Reg: 08-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Friday, February 28, 2014 - 11:02 pm, by:  Tom Richards (Tomr) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

the scanners are OBD2 the soarers are not
Steve Gorman
TryHard
NSW
V8

Posts: 229
Reg: 08-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Saturday, March 01, 2014 - 12:31 pm, by:  Steve Gorman (Steve_gorman) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I think 1997 and on JZZ31 soarers use OBD2 - at least mine does
Tom Richards
Goo Roo
nsw
V8

Posts: 1809
Reg: 08-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Saturday, March 01, 2014 - 02:23 pm, by:  Tom Richards (Tomr) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

steve is probally correct as i said above , OBD2 started in the mid 90's and i would think toyota would be leading the way.
Ian Rigby
TryHard
NSW
'97 AE102, '95 JZZ30

Posts: 199
Reg: 11-2010

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Sunday, March 02, 2014 - 05:36 pm, by:  Ian Rigby (Hiro) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)


Tom Richards wrote on Saturday, March 01, 2014 - 02:23 pm:

OBD2 started in the mid 90's and i would think toyota would be leading the way.




OBDII was introduced in the US in about 1996 or so, Toyota actually took quite a while (say mid 2000s) to properly adopt it in Aus at least (not sure about Japan) - for that 10 year period they had their own proprietary setup that looks "like" OBDII but wasn't.
Steve Gorman
TryHard
NSW
V8

Posts: 230
Reg: 08-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Sunday, March 02, 2014 - 05:43 pm, by:  Steve Gorman (Steve_gorman) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

We have 2 1997 JZZ31 soarers in our household fleet and both have had aftermarket OBD2 scanners successfully used on them.
Goetz von Gneisenau
Tinkerer
QLD
V8

Posts: 7
Reg: 03-2019

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Monday, June 03, 2019 - 11:20 pm, by:  Goetz von Gneisenau (Sunshine) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If anyone is interested to know I have purchased an Actron CP9690 OBD scanner and it works great on my 1991 UZZ31.
Plugs into the round circular plug under the dash, does not work using the rectangular plug into the port on top of the engine (eventhough it comes with the rectangular plug).
Reads error codes and as well reads live data and all the other features..
Roland Elliott
TryHard
New South Wales
uzz32 1uz-fe

Posts: 356
Reg: 08-2014

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Monday, June 03, 2019 - 11:49 pm, by:  Roland Elliott (Aussie2013) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)


Goetz von Gneisenau wrote on Monday, June 03, 2019 - 11:20 pm:


I HAVE sent you an email
Scott Vim
Goo Roo
Vic
Soarer (1uz) Chaser (1jz)

Posts: 1729
Reg: 12-2010

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Tuesday, June 04, 2019 - 12:03 am, by:  Scott Vim (1uz1jz) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sounds really good. What kind of money are we talking here?
Goetz von Gneisenau
Tinkerer
QLD
V8

Posts: 8
Reg: 03-2019

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Tuesday, June 04, 2019 - 12:16 am, by:  Goetz von Gneisenau (Sunshine) Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I paid around $385 on Ebay, the sellers are mainly in the USA.

Add Your Message Here
Eye Candy
Click for full size
Bold text Italics Underline Center Text Upload photo from your hard drive Make a List Make a Table Make an Image Thumbnail Create a hyperlink Insert a clipart image Formatting Help
         

Username: Important Posting Information:
If asking a question, have you done a search to see if your question has already been answered?
Be aware that the use of SMS-speak eg "u" instead of "you" etc, will get your post deleted.
Password:
Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message

  Administration Administration      Log Out Log Out Previous Previous      Next Next