Last x Days Posts  1 | 3 | 7 Days  Search  Topics  Tree View  Help
  SoarerCentral * General Soarer Chat * Coding help!!! Previous Previous    Next Next  

Author Message
Rob Andreacchio
Moderator
UZZ31 V8

Posts: 141
Reg: 01-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 12:59 am, by:  Rob Andreacchio Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Having some compatibility issues with IE and firefox...

here is the code:

<OBJECT ID="mediaPlayer" CLASSID="CLSID:22d6f312-b0f6-11d0-94ab-0080c74c7e95" CODEBASE="http://activex.microsoft.com/activex/controls/mplayer/en/nsmp2inf.cabVersion=5,1,52,701" STANDBY="Loading Microsoft Windows Media Player components..." TYPE="application/x-oleobject">
<PARAM NAME="fileName" VALUE="http://www.mystore.com/test.wma">
<PARAM NAME="animationatStart" VALUE="true">
<PARAM NAME="transparentatStart" VALUE="true">
<PARAM NAME="autoStart" VALUE="false">
<PARAM NAME="showControls" VALUE="true">
<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
<EMBED type="application/x-mplayer2" pluginspage = "http://www.microsoft.com/Windows/MediaPlayer/" SRC="http://www.mystore.com/test.wma" name="MediaPlayer1" AutoStart=false>
</EMBED>
</OBJECT>

In IE I get this:
Upload

In Firefox I get this:
Upload

any ideas??
Rob Andreacchio
Moderator
UZZ31 V8

Posts: 142
Reg: 01-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 01:00 pm, by:  Rob Andreacchio Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

well what a helpful bunch you lot are! hahaha

Peter Nitschke
Moderator
GT4.0 V8

Posts: 940
Reg: 11-2004

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 01:09 pm, by:  Peter Nitschke Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sorry, I don't have Firefox and I wouldn't have a clue. But at least you know I read your post :-)
Benny Gammelmark
TryHard
V8 UZZ31

Posts: 109
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 01:40 pm, by:  Benny Gammelmark Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You need someone that knows web applications. I only do MainFrame Assembler and Cobol. Sorry.
And I second Peter.
David Vaughan
TryHard
Soarer GT-L (4.0 V8) and is300 (3.0 VVT-i 6)

Posts: 166
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 01:58 pm, by:  David Vaughan Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If you are patient I can farm the problem out to Software Engineering students at ANU but there is unlikely to be an answer before tomorrow. They will probably just ask why you are using WMP.
Peter Nitschke
Moderator
GT4.0 V8

Posts: 944
Reg: 11-2004

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 03:43 pm, by:  Peter Nitschke Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Neil, isn't that easily rectified with the use of FDISK?
Benny Gammelmark
TryHard
V8 UZZ31

Posts: 114
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 04:15 pm, by:  Benny Gammelmark Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

FDISK is definitely the go You will never have ANY errors on your PC after that.
Rob Andreacchio
Moderator
UZZ31 V8

Posts: 143
Reg: 01-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 06:23 pm, by:  Rob Andreacchio Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

fdisk...that's like defrag yeah??
Peter Nitschke
Moderator
GT4.0 V8

Posts: 947
Reg: 11-2004

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 06:27 pm, by:  Peter Nitschke Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yeah, that sounds about right :-)
Jarrod Spiga
Tinkerer
JZZ30 TT

Posts: 17
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 06:38 pm, by:  Jarrod Spiga Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

And in Linux, I get....
Jason Kingsmill
TryHard
UZZ31 Soarer V8

Posts: 58
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 06:52 pm, by:  Jason Kingsmill Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

"FDISK is definitely the go You will never have ANY errors on your PC after that"

Only one error: "Invalid system disk"
Benny Gammelmark
TryHard
V8 UZZ31

Posts: 119
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 07:32 pm, by:  Benny Gammelmark Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

At least you'd know why.
Peter Burrett
Tinkerer
2.5 VVTi ST

Posts: 25
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 07:45 pm, by:  Peter Burrett Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Clearly the problem is in the CPU.... there is nothing in the code that could cause even the slightest error....... but that doesn't mean that perfect code will give perfect results...let me take you back down memory lane.... we had a 1401 and it was working purrfectly..... we ran the same job twice and we got very different results..... bad situation; we all believed that software ALWAYS behaved the same way each time it was run.... SO if you got different results ....... it was a HARDWARE problem......... but then we discovered that software is time and date sensitive.... which invalidated our rule that it always would produce the same results...... since then (about 1969) there has been a seemingly endless series of technological failures which are all attributable to the blurring of the boundary between hardware and software... the result is that no one has the slightest fcuking clue where to look when the system breaks........ stiff S**T for the astronauts, even if they did make it back last night
Jeff Wilkins
TryHard
JZZ30 GT-TL

Posts: 59
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Wednesday, August 10, 2005 - 09:55 pm, by:  Jeff Wilkins Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Firefox doesnt seem to enjoy much embedded vid content. I was having issues watching some Drift vids from the US the other night. Same deal, just a black screen. :-(
Hanré Van Rensburg
Tinkerer
Soarer TT

Posts: 9
Reg: 08-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Thursday, August 11, 2005 - 01:09 pm, by:  Hanré Van Rensburg Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Firefox is open source so not everyone codes their sites etc to support it...
David Vaughan
TryHard
Soarer GT-L (4.0 V8) and is300 (3.0 VVT-i 6)

Posts: 180
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Thursday, August 11, 2005 - 01:21 pm, by:  David Vaughan Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Umm, they asked why are you using WMP? Anyway, no-one spotted any obvious problem with the code so one is lead to the conclusion that one or the other of Microsoft and mozilla.org (Firefox) does not play nicely with the other. Anyone want to have a guess?
Hanré Van Rensburg
Tinkerer
Soarer TT

Posts: 10
Reg: 08-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Thursday, August 11, 2005 - 01:42 pm, by:  Hanré Van Rensburg Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

AFAIK Microsoft didn't design WMP for use with things non-Microsoft so it won't be fully compatible with Firefox.

I'm not that 'up' with coding myself at the moment but I say blame on the person who designed/coded the site...

WMP works flawlessly on many other sites using Firefox and other open source browsers so someone didn't their job properly.. :P
Rob Andreacchio
Moderator
UZZ31 V8

Posts: 145
Reg: 01-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Thursday, August 11, 2005 - 02:07 pm, by:  Rob Andreacchio Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tis ok... .i have chosen a different method after all the mucking about.. thank you all for your help :-)
Peter Burrett
Tinkerer
2.5 VVTi ST

Posts: 29
Reg: 07-2005

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rating: N/A
Votes: 0 (Vote!)

Thursday, August 11, 2005 - 05:41 pm, by:  Peter Burrett Quote hilighted text Edit Post Delete Post Print Post   View Post/Check IP (Moderator/Admin Only) Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Not that there was much there for you to harvest GRYMM

Add Your Message Here
Eye Candy
Click for full size
Bold text Italics Underline Center Text Upload photo from your hard drive Make a List Make a Table Make an Image Thumbnail Create a hyperlink Insert a clipart image Formatting Help
         

Username: Important Posting Information:
If asking a question, have you done a search to see if your question has already been answered?
Be aware that the use of SMS-speak eg "u" instead of "you" etc, will get your post deleted.
Password:
Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message

  Administration Administration      Log Out Log Out Previous Previous      Next Next